What’s Your GQ?


That is your Google Quotient. Career Distinction has a neat little tool called an Online Identity Calculator or your GQ.

A while back I started reading a few blogs on branding, marketing and online community presence. I’ve been very in intrigued by watching Cheryl Smith on Twitter.  She makes contacts, networks and connects people like nobody’s business. She gets it. She’s owning it. Her name. Her brand. And she’s working it. I’m learning a lot just from watching her tweet.

Then there are others that claim to be about a brand or a passion and yet they dont display that much in their blog or their tweets. Since your online reputation today significantly impacts your brand and your potential income flow, it’s not only necessary to manage that reputation it is potentially fatal if you don’t.

Now, I don’t claim to have a brand or an online presence of any kind. Remember I’m just getting through this transition in my life. But in preparing for the next phase of this life, I am definitely keeping an eye on how people interact and use social media to enhance their brand and engage others in knowing who they are and what they are about.

Career Distinction has a unique little tool that grades your Google Quotient, aka your brand exposure.

I tested it out. Here’s my score for my name, Amy Halleran, & BeyondJEMS. Oddly enough although the technical input was different for each, my overall score for both was the same – Digitally Distinct

Online Identity Calculator

Online Identity Calculator

Congratulations. You are digitally distinct!

This is the nirvana of online identity. A search of your name yields lots of results about you, and most, if not all, reinforce your unique personal brand. Keep up the good work, and remember that your Google results can change as fast as the weather in New England. So, regularly monitor your online identity. That way, if something negative, such as an anonymous ad hominem attack on your character on a blog, crops up, you can address it quickly, before it gets out of hand. Read Chapter 11 of Career Distinction: Stand Out by Building Your Brand for more ideas on how to continue to build your brand online.

One thought on “What’s Your GQ?

  1. I’m learning from you as well! I hadn’t heard of Online Identity Tracker. Thanks for passing the link along. I started to submit the info to do my profile, but then realized they asked for my email address (I entered a generic one) but then they also asked for a lot of demographic info so I stopped. I then entered a bogus name “no one in particular” and email, and did the same thing. Based on my subjective responses, this told me that I was digitally distinct and had reached nirvana as well.

    Interesting tool that offers no objective validation. For me, the most valuable part was thinking about relevancy on search results. I’m going to have to give that some additional thought.

Leave a Reply

