40 Is The New 30: Dumbing Down The Decades


decadesI was perusing the web the other day, specifically Meet Up, looking for a running group or volunteer group to join and I saw an interesting trend. It is the Dumbing Down of the Decades. Or at least that’s what I’ll call it. We’ve all heard 40 is the new 30. Well for those of my readers who are 40, you’ve probably heard it. Those younger or older may have heard something similar about your specific decade. Well, I ran across a group called the 30 is the new 20 and I’ve seen 50 is the new 40.

This so perplexed me. And it got me to thinking. Well, if 50 is the new 40, which is really the new 30, which is oh so like 20, then that would possibly explain the 20 year olds living with their parents and the 30 year olds acting like they’ve just got out of college. We are all getting younger as we age. By the time I hit 50 it will be the new 20. Well, at least here’s hoping!

Let’s take a look at my grandparents generation. I wrote about it HERE. Surviving the great depression, thrust in to war at a young age, doing what has to be done to survive and then provide. These guys were in their late teens and early 20’s providing for families, going off to war. And we’re not talking about volunteers and the National Guard, we’re talking about our country of men. They had to grow up fast and furious or die. It certainly changes perspective on where you are and what you are doing in life.

It seems as time and technology have progressed, we have regressed as a whole. Not in all cases, but in general. Or maybe only in part, I’m not sure.

Or has it always been this way? Doesn’t each generation view the up and coming generation through a lens of semi-shaded scepticism about their level of maturity and responsibility and seriousness? Have I just reached that age when I’m the one who is doubting the next generation behind me?

What do you think?

Leave a Reply

