Ultimate Blog Party 2009 – Let Me Introduce Myself :)


Ultimate Blog Party 2009
Hey! I’m coming a bit late to the party but that is my style. Not making a grand entrance but just tend to run a little late to everything in general. 🙂

I attended the Nashville Ultimate Blog Party In Real Life 2009 on Monday night (yes, I was late to it too!) And it was so cool to meet people in the area that are blogging and doing the kid thing. Even though many of us are strangers, the mommy blog connects us so we just ‘get it’.

About Me…

Well, here’s a summary of my first post from a year ago….

o Who Am I? I’m just a girl, clinging to the age of 39, getting divorced w/ 2.5 YO twins. Many people don’t think of a 39 YO female as a girl, but I mean girl versus – mother, woman, mentor, nurturer, etc. Oh, don’t get me wrong I am all those things too and then some. The part of me that goes beyond being Jacob & Emma’s Mommy (JEMS). And that’s who’s writing this blog. Someone once told me I had a lot of energy in my writing, so much to say. And you all are the lucky ones who get to read it all, if you choose.

I have two miracle babies, literally the product of God’s ability to answer prayers & grant those of us who deserve so little the most amazing things… Jacob & Emma Grace were born at 27 weeks.  If there is ever a doubt as to whether or not God still performs miracles in this day & age, rest assured it is true because I look at two of them each & every day!

This is what I don’t know…

  • I don’t know what I want to be when I grow up…
  • I don’t know if I will be alone forever or love again…
  • I don’t know if I really know Christ as I should…
  • I don’t know if I will ever get it right…
  • I don’t know how to write a blog, or really just write…
  • I don’t know how I’m going to support 2 kids…
  • I don’t know if there is life Beyond JEMS!…
  • I don’t know what I will write about tomorrow…

Here’s what I do know…

  • I know I want to write, paint, learn, love & grow everyday and recapture passions that have been oppressed for too long.
  • I know that the man department will be what God wants it to be; this time He’s choosing
  • I know that I want to know Christ better
  • I know that I will fail and succeed over and over again and that’s ok
  • I know that I will constantly use spell check and grammar check & still not get it right
  • I know that I will find a way to support my family. I’m a pretty smart girl – MBA in Global Mgt & all.
  • I know that I will make a life Beyond JEMS!
  • I know that whatever it is…. I will definitely write tomorrow….

Will you come along with me to see what I write & discover this girl’s life Beyond JEMS!?

And where am I a year later? Well, the list hasn’t changed much! All of these things are still true. It’s all a process. Life.

A few things have definitely changed though. I started a business Beyond Creatives – Web Design, Social Media & Small Biz Consulting.  My niche is most small companies that can’t or won’t spend money on big marketing firms.  My fundamental belief is at a minimum everyone needs at least a professional looking landing page to establish your business. So I help them understand the web opportunities and work within their budget to make it happen. It’s been fun! I’m not making big bucks, but I’m helping people take their business to the next level at a price they can afford. It’s gratifying to know I’m teaching & helping.

The second thing that’s changed is that I am now getting comfortable with the term “writer”. I used to shy away from it because I didn’t think I had the skillset or talent. But after multiple rounds of positive feedback, I’m beginning to believe it. I joined the Nashville Writers Group and am loving it. The crazy writing exercises, meeting published authors and lay dreamers like myself; I love all of it!

Well, I really should name this blog Sybil because it’s just all over the place: my spiritual journey, techy stuff, kid stuff, divorce stuff, single mom stuff, career stuff and running stuff. You’ll find a little bit of it here and there. Regardless of how you got here, I hope you find something that makes you laugh or cry before you leave!

I’m looking forward to getting to know you! Send me a link in the comments to your blog and I’ll share some link love and stop by for a visit.

10 thoughts on “Ultimate Blog Party 2009 – Let Me Introduce Myself :)

  1. Hey girl! You are definitely a writer and I have no doubt that you will succeed at providing for you and your kids. You have everything you need to be all that you desire and more. God has gifted you in many…many ways. 2Peter 1:3, “His divine power has given you everything you need for life and godliness.” So dream on and dream BIG!

  2. Great blog. So glad that I stopped by.
    Hope you will stop by my blog for a visit.
    I am new to blogging and I am loving all my new friends.
    I am giving away my first EVER BLOG PRIZE.
    I have a gift basket business and it is the most requested gift over the last 15 years.
    From the comments I have already received, it appears to be something a little different and something anyone could use.
    I have been so touched by the comments that I have decided to give 2 boxes . They will be the $100 deluxe size. I really do want to bless people!!!
    I have decided that giving is life at its BEST. The drawing will be Saturday!

  3. I’m so glad you came to the IRL party! Better late than never. My son had a BLAST playing with Jacob and Emma! He was thrilled to have some buddies to hang with.

  4. Nice meeting you! You sound like you have such a beautiful family! Twins?! ahhh! Too cute! I am a little late to the blog party but I like your blog! I’m still having a little “after party” at my place too!

    I’m not a mom yet myself but I’m thinking that may change one day soon! I’m trying to get the DL from moms on “the stuff they don’t tell you beforehand!” haha.

    Can’t wait to pick your brain! And please feel free to share your advice or secrets anytime!

  5. Hello! Poppin’ in from The Ultimate Blog Party…all the way from Queensland, Australia! G’Day! I hope you have time to visit my party soon.

    I’m giving away Pink Champagne Shower Syrup from Jaqua Beauty…stop on over and enter! Ends April 8. Open to USA.

    Ta!

    I want to invite you to the Mommie Daze Virtual Baby Shower that I am hosting May 15 to June 8. This is an international even and there are prizes! Stop by my blog for all the details.

Leave a Reply

