Nashville Writers Group – Self Debates Self


writingIt was my first time participating in any form of group writing. I was nervous and exhilarated all at the same time. I wanted to share my first exercise. I thought it was pretty cool.

Self Debates Self: The premise is to develop 2 sides of yourself in a debate. 5 minute exercise (this freaked me out). 

What I liked about my writing is that it can be interpreted so many different ways. It can speak to anyone personally depending on what they want the debate to be about.  Is is about love, or writing a novel, or trying a new sport? Does is matter? It comes to the basic elements of a negative self voicing doubt and fear. And a positive self facing it bravely.

What I didn’t like was the time constraint. My limited vocabulary. Limited ability to expand on the piece because I ran out of time. 

 

Why must we go through this again?

Are you incapable of learning the lesson?

Have you not had enough pain?


But this time will be different, I know it will

I have grown.

I am aware.

I am smart.


You see only what you want to.

You know nothing of the truth.

You will do what you want to do. 


But this time will be different, I know it will

I am keen.

I am strong.

I am wise.


And I am willing to fail.

 

What does it mean to you?

One thought on “Nashville Writers Group – Self Debates Self

Leave a Reply

