Blog Action Day 2008: Poverty


October 15th was set aside as Blog Action Day 2008. It is designated as the global opportunity to change the conversation, raise awareness, and take the largest group action to erradicate poverty worldwide. 12,618 sites have signed up to participate. Those sites alone reach well over 13 million readers. This does not include the trickle down effect of readers passing the word. 

I’ve been very reluctant to write just because I don’t have any big ideas or creative solutions or audience engaging surprises. Being a single mom and raising 3 yo twins doesnt leave for any vast amount of money to donate or time to contribute. Nevertheless, I have been trying to find creative solutions for my ACTION. 

I was planning a charity event for this fall that was to benefit Compassion International, but due to circumstances beyond my control, it has been postponed indefinitely. I started this quest for one reason only… as my way of giving back.  Not being able to move forward has left me really down and out.  

So I have been thinking of what is within my control. My money and time sort of, but they actually already have pretty heavy obligations themselves. That leaves my family: me and my kids. Yes, that is the answer for Blog ACTION Day…. My kids!

Meet My Kids!

Scovia

Scovia

  

Jacob

Jacob

Emma

Emma

 

 

 

 

You already know Jacob and Emma. I’d like to introduce Scovia (6 yo), she is my Compassion Child that I sponsor in Uganda. 

You may be wondering what kind of significant ACTION my kids are able to contribute. It’s simple… Every individual has the opportunity to make a difference, especially when they are raised to see it, feel it and believe it.  My kids know Scovia. We pray for her at night. We read her letters as a family. We have her home marked on our world map. They are amazingly able to grasp that we are helping her get food to eat and to go to school. 

I think I am the typically 30 something woman who was raised in an average home where we turned the channel on poverty. We gave our offering at church and that was that. Nothing more, nothing less. If a Sally Struthers commercial came on the tv, the solution was to turn the channel or take a bathroom break. Just about anything to avoid seeing those kids. It was not pleasant. Thus we escaped it. 

I truly believe I can make the most significant difference to fight poverty by educating and exposing my kids.  Not when they are teenagers, not when they are in grade school, but now! Now is the time when their genuine thirst for knowledge is exploding exponentially. Now is the time that they are shaping the morals and ethics and belief systems.Now is the time that the definition of love is imprinted on their hearts, minds and souls. And isn’t that what it comes down to loving others. This is a fundamental that is taught at their preschool. This is something that I want to teach them. Not just tolerance, but acceptance, love. 

I have decided this year we, as in Jacob, Emma and I, will take a donation to a women’s shelter in person. Hopefully, a mom with kids who is in need of some clothes and toys and love.  This is our first step. it is a small one, but I pray it is the first of a long journey that will be far reaching eventually that we will make together as a family. 

Here’s my GLOBAL idea: what would happen in 10, 20 or even 30 years if everyone took the same step with us today. What would the world look like then? 

What do you do as a family or with your kids to make a difference?

 

This is a part of Water Cooler Wednesday

2 thoughts on “Blog Action Day 2008: Poverty

  1. Just a reminder as we get closer to the holidays.

    Sears- Christmas shopping has already started.

    I know I needed this reminder since Sears isn’t always my first choice when
    shopping. Amazing when you think of how long the war has lasted and they
    haven’t withdrawn from their commitment. Could we each buy at least one
    thing at Sears this year?

    How does Sears treat its employees who are called up for military duty? By
    law, they are required to hold their jobs open and available, but nothing
    more. Usually, people take a big pay cut and lose benefits as a result of
    being called up.

    How bout this.. Sears is voluntarily paying the difference in salaries and
    maintaining all benefits, including medical insurance and bonus programs for
    all called up reservist employees for up to two years.

    I submit that Sears is an exemplary corporate citizen and should be
    recognized for its contribution. I suggest we all shop at Sears, and be sure
    to find a manager to tell them why we are there so the company gets the
    positive reinforcement it well deserves.

    Pass it on.

    Decided to check this before I sent it forward. So I sent the following
    e-mail to the Sears Customer Service Department:

    I received this e-mail and I would like to know if it is true. If it is, the
    Internet may have just become one very good source of advertisement for your
    company. I know I would go out of my way to buy products from Sears instead
    of another store for a like item, even if it’s cheaper at that store.

    This is their answer to my e-mail:

    Dear Customer:

    Thank you for contacting Sears.The information is factual. We appreciate
    your positive feedback.

    Sears regards service to our country as one of greatest sacrifices our young
    men and women can make. We are happy to do our part to lessen the burden
    they bear at this time.

    Bill Thorn
    Sears Customer Care
    webcenter@sears.com
    1-800-349-4358
    Please pass this on to all your friends. Sears needs to be recognized for
    this outstanding contribution and we need to show them as Americans, we do
    appreciate what they are doing for our military!!!

    It’s Verified ! By Snopes.com at:
    http://www.snopes.com/politics/military/sears.asp (shows the entire article)

  2. Be careful when purchasing gift cards for Christmas. Subject: FW: PLEASE READ-Local Stores Closing….Checked on Snopes. It seems there are lots of stores that are closing due to the “recession” and the fact that people are not shopping. If you have any “gift cards” from these stores, make sure you use them, or you will lose them !

    Watch those store money cards and gift cards.. and credit slips! Stores that informed the Security Exchange of closing plans between October 2008 and January 2009. PLEASE PASS THIS ON TO ALL YOUR FAMILY AND FRIENDS.

    Circuit City stores… most recent (? how many)

    Ann Taylor- 117 stores nationwide are to be shuttered

    Lane Bryant,, Fashion Bug ,and Catherine’s to close 150 store nationwide

    Eddie Bauer to close stores 27 stores and more after January

    Cache will close all stores

    Talbots closing down all stores

    J. Jill closing all stores

    GAP closing 85 stores

    Footlocker closing 140 stores more to close after January Wickes Furniture closing down

    Levitz closing down remaining stores

    Bombay closing remaining stores

    Zales closing down 82 stores and 105 after January.

    Whitehall closing all stores

    Piercing Pagoda closing all stores

    Disney closing 98 stores and will close more after January.

    Home Depot closing 15 stores 1 in NJ ( New Brunswick )

    Macys to close 9 stores after January

    Linens and Things closing all stores

    Movie Galley Closing all stores

    Pacific Sunware closing stores

    Pep Boys Closing 33 stores
    Sprint/ Nextel closing 133 stores

    JC Penney closing a number of stores after January

    Ethan Allen closing down 12 stores.

    Wilson Leather closing down all stores

    Sharper Image closing down all stores

    K B Toys closing 356 stores

    Loews to close down some stores

    Dillard’s to close some stores.

Leave a Reply

