Team In Training Update!


 

I wanted to give everyone an update on my adventure with The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society’s (LLS) Team In Training.

  • My Grandfather –  Carl MarlowHe is my inspiration for joining Team In Training (TNT) to raise money to battle leukemia & lymphoma. He is in his 2nd year of battling lymphoma and it has not been an easy battle as of late.  Two weeks ago he lost his bride. My grandmother passed away peacefully in her sleep.  Unfortunately, my grandfather could not bring himself to attend the funeral, stating he had already said his goodbyes. This week he is back in the hospital again because of fluid building in his lungs. After some medical intervention, we hope he will be able to go home by the weekend.
  • My Training Progress:  I have had great success training with my teammates. My longest run to date is 7 miles with a strong desire to go further. Unfortunately, my training was derailed this past week by a broken arm & surgery. Ouch! But, never fear I will be back to training within 3 weeks according to my doctor. Next week I will be able to start long walks and the week after burn up the pavement again.  I’m really anxious to get back to it!  
  • My Fundraising Progress:  1st – I want to say THANK YOU to all those who have already contributed to this very worthy cause. Your generosity is commendable! You are saving lives! 2nd – If you have not been able to contribute yet, I implore you to do so. There is still time! I have mailed over 100 letters with SASE’s included to make the donation process as easy as possible. However, I am saddened to say that I am quite significantly short of the required funds to participate in the race.  As of today I have raised $815 of the $4000that is needed for me to participate.  With the end of August being the deadline for the Nike Women’s Half Marathon in San Francisco, I have changed races to the Rock n Roll Marathon in San Antonio, TX. This will allow more time for fundraising.  I will be holding a bake sale and a yard sale and who knows what else to help raise money. I know times are tough and budgets are tight, but before you buy that next Starbucks or new pair of shoes, please consider saving that money for a donation. Whether it is $5 or $50, it all adds up and it helps. Well, this should bring everyone up to date.  Remember, each donation helps accelerate finding a cure for leukemia, lymphoma and myeloma. More than 823,000 Americans are battling these blood cancers. I am hoping that my participation in Team In Training will help bring them hope and support.
      

To make a donation to my fundraising campaign, you can mail a check to:  Amy Halleran, 102 Battlefield Drive, Franklin, TN, 37064. 

 

Or simply use the link in this email to donate online quickly and securely. You will receive a confirmation of your donation by email and I will be notified as soon as you make your donation.

http://pages.teamintraining.org/tn/nikesf08/ahalleran

On behalf of The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society, thank you very much for your support. I greatly appreciate your generosity.

 

Amy Halleran

Jacob & Emma’s Mommy

BeyondJEMS

 

 

 

One thought on “Team In Training Update!

Leave a Reply

