The Sound of Pain


"OUCH!!!"This is a radial fracture. Well if you can imagine that the squiggly lines were actually a break and the top 1 inch was crushed sideways in the arm. Then it would be my radial fracture.

If you’ve ever broken a bone then you’ll get it. If not, then you can imagine the sound you actually hear when your bone snaps.  “SNAP”

It’s the 2nd time I’ve broken this bone. 1st time I was 15 yrs. old. Gymnastics class for cheerleading – a dangerous sport.  Then I knew it saved me from literally breaking my neck.

This time my ego is injured as badly as my arm. I fell off a bike. No, not a motorcycle doing 80 mph. No, not a mountain bike hurling down a rugged path at breakneck speeds. It was just a bike. A road bike barely scooting along to a stop. Then I fell.

Well actually, the mesh top of my running shoe got caught in the JAWS OF SATAN, otherwise known as toe clips. I was already leaning to stop and suddenly my right foot is nowhere to be found. The GATES OF HELL, otherwise known as toe clips, had sequestered my shoe and the ground was approaching my face ever so quickly! AAAAAHHHHHHH! 

Now most people involved in sports of some sort will tell you there is a right way and a wrong way to fall. It’s just common sense. And seasoned pros will always have the upper hand when it comes to proper falling techniques. I am not a seasoned bike rider. However I have had my share of falls from cheerleading. Many of the rules are similar. Such as, let the body take the blow. And, never stick an arm straight out between you & the ground to break your fall.  Apparently somewhere between 1991 and 2008, I forgot how to fall the right way.

Thus, a trip to the ER was my next step.  But not before spending 20 minutes listening to the kid who was riding with me tell me I was just shaken up. (He went from being an expert employee at REI to a kid when he started treating me like I was a drama queen) Then I had to drive 20 minutes to pick up Emma & Jacob, spend another 20 minutes getting them situated with a snack and then drive back to the ER.  There I spent another 30 minutes filling out forms, taking them to potty and breaking up fights. BONUS: It was all going down during naptime.

My last straw was telling the nurse for the 10th time, “No, I dont have anyone I can call to come take my kids.” THEN the tears started to flow. Not because of the pain, but because I was really alone. Due to a plethra of circumstances no one was able to help me that day. Realizing that I was really alone, that I had no one to count on, brought out a lot of fear and hurt and frustration. And it came out in smoldering hot tears that ran down my face. But I said nothing. I just took a deep breath, wiped the tears away, and told her for the last time there is no one.  Then I think she got it.

When I came back from x-ray, my kiddos were asleep on a palette in the floor. The nurses had made them a place to lay down after getting them some juice and graham crackers.  We were not alone. See while they were torturing me in radiology, I started talking to God. I kept telling Him over and over, “You are enough. You will give me strength. You are enough.” 

We were taken care of there and from that point on by friends, by family.  I’m so lucky.

 

This is a part of Watercooler Wednesday because I got nothing else & it takes too long to type left handed in pain. Sorry!

9 thoughts on “The Sound of Pain

  1. Whenever there’s a problem,
    Wherever there’s dispair
    Just bow your head in prayer and know
    That God will always be there.

    When things look bleak and dreary,
    When it seems that no one cares,
    Have faith, my friend, in our Lord
    And he will answer all your prayers.

    I know sometimes it’s hard,
    Things don’t seem to work out right,
    But it truly is quite pointless
    To kick or scream or fight.

    When you really need an answer,
    On HIM you can depend.
    Only FAITH can move a mountain –
    So, have FAITH in God, my friend!

  2. we are all alone at some time or another…you handled it with faith. I’m inspired.
    I’ve been feeling more alone lately since my daughter moved out.
    and finally feeling the role of widow.
    alone…with God…I can do that.

  3. Amy, I’ve been reading your blog for a few weeks and have been blown away by your strength and determination. I wish I could have been there for you.

  4. Pingback: Recent Links Tagged With "stick" - JabberTags

Leave a Reply

