Marissa: Where Mary Poppins Meets Mother Theresa


OK, I may be over exaggerating a little bit, but that is exactly how impressed I am with the wonderful angel that has come in to my children’s lives. Her name is Marissa Hyatt and you can find her HERE

I’ve been friends with Marissa’s older sister Mindy for about a year now. And as it turned out I was also reading her dad, Michael Hyatt’s, blog. It took us about 6 months to put the pieces of the puzzle together, but that led me to meeting more of the family: GailMegan and Marissa.  (You know what they say, the family that blogs & twitters together, stays together.) Here is the beauty of the blogosphere & Twitter.  I had found Marissa’s blog via Michael’s blog and was instantly impressed. Then one afternoon last week Gail sent out a tweet that Marissa was looking for part time work and I just happend to pick up a couple clients and needed someone to watch my kids. Thus, our nanny arrangement began to take shape.  Now, on to Marissa.

Dear Marissa!  I was just telling a friend today that a part of me is overwhelmed and ashamed at the level of clarity and inspiration that I am receiving from a 17 year old’s blog.  She has the spirit of youth, the love of an angel and the wisdom of an old soul all wrapped up and showering my kids with it weekly.  She is so open with her life to new opportunity and seeking out what God has called her to do.  She has been to Africa on a missons trip, is graduating from high school early and taking college classes instead of bumming around.  She is taking the time this fall to travel and explore and really listen to God’s calling. She looks for the joy and passions of her life with such curious open wonder, it just makes you smile.  Here’s an excerpt from her latest blog entry….

Dreaming Big by Marissa Hyatt

Lately, I’ve been thinking a lot about this next year of my life; what I want to happen; what I want to experience; who I want to become. And I’ve been dreaming up many different ideas: moving to Thailand, working at Revolve Tour, going to L’Abri Switzerland, possible internships etc. This time in my life is extremely exciting because I have no extreme responsibilities and can experience things without extreme effects on my life. 
I have been thinking about what I want to accomplish and here is what I want to accomplish:
  1. I want to be aware of who I am and have established a clear belief system that I, myself, have proved to be true.
  2. I want to have traveled as much as my income allows.
  3. I want to have saved at least 1/3 of my income.
  4. I want to have gained more experience professionally.
  5. I want to have  a good idea of what I hope to accomplish in college.

And there you have it. I need to be thinking more and more. Oh and my all time dream is to intern with Lisa Ling! Someone please help me figure how to make that happen!

This is who I want to be with my children.  Someone who will love on them like there is no tomorrow, get goofy and silly with them at the park and share their home & family with them.  And that’s what she does.  

Thank you Marissa for loving on my kids and being there for us. You are an inspiration! 

How many of you know 17 year old girls like that?  Not many I’m sure.  In a day where role models for young girls are so hard to find, she is a breath of fresh air.   And she’s taken, so no one else even think about stealing my nanny. And that’s why she is a part of my first post on “Positive Post Tuesday” by Brody Harper.

One thought on “Marissa: Where Mary Poppins Meets Mother Theresa

  1. Amy,

    I am blown away. Your words have hit me so hard I have no words to express the gratitude I have for you. Thank so much for these kind and impacting words. Its amazing how God can use you to impact people’s lives without even realizing it. I am so happy to be a part of you and your children’s lives. They have touched me more than I can even begin to describe.

    Sunday night I had a really hard night and was dreading waking up and having to pour energy that I didn’t think I had. But the moment I walked through your front door and saw they’re smiling faces a realization hit me, “This is how she [Amy] keeps going.” Those little munchkins immediately brightened my day. They showed me the little joys of life. They showed me that nothing can be more sweet than two three year olds crawling all of you and showering you with kisses. I realized that day that through everything you are dealing with and sorting out, it is Emma and Jacob’s smiling faces that give you the energy to carry on and the strength to continue to fight.

    I have never felt a connection with a family I have nannied for as I have felt with yours. Thank you for all that you are doing and for the encouragement you are to me.

Leave a Reply

