Blogging As Spiritual Art


I stand at the crossroads of this life, examining the dichotomy that is my world. This is a world of great consternation and turmoil on one hand, and of endless possibilities and exuberant joy on the other. The sequential relations are exhausting and triumphant, full of sorrow and pleasure. 

My journey of self-discovery is randomly scattered moments of listening, reading and writing. It is when I listen to music or read that I find knowledge, truth and inspiration. In these moments I am drawn to take pen to paper expunging my heart.  I bare my soul reflecting on the rhythms of the journey this life sets before me.  It is when I write that I am free. I am free to dream. I am free to create. I am free to perform miracles on paper. Miracles that one day I may make reality.

There is nothing more exploratory than the ponderance of these lyrics, these writings, these quotes. Musings of creative prose fill my head. They stir in me deep thought and call in to question my reason for being and doing. Why are we pulled in to such actions? What is the impulse(s) that needs fed? What speaks to our hearts and why? 

My need for healing and growth seem boundless. My fierce pursuit of these things has not always led me down the right path. Sometimes the path we choose leads to more suffering before the mending can begin. It is a process. One that is not clearly defined. One that is not served to us with end in plain sight. But instead it is one of clever twists and turns and never ending surprise. It is a dance. And my journey began with a song.

Excerpt of Lyrics:   Beloved… Tenth Avenue North

Love of my life, look deep in my eyes, there you will find what you need.

Give me your life, the lust and the lies, the past you’re afraid I might see.

You’ve been running away from me.

Love of my life, look deep in my eyes, there you will find what you need.

I’m the giver of life, I’ll clothe you in white, my immaculate bride you will be.

Oh come running home to me.

Well you’ve been a mistress my wife, your chasing lovers it won’t satisfy,

Won’t you let me make you my bride, you will drink of my lips and taste new life.

CHORUS:

You are my beloved, lover I’m yours.

Death shall not part us, it’s you I died for.

For better or worse, forever we’ll be.

Our love it unites us and it binds you to me.

It’s a mystery.

I can not begin to describe the anguish that exploded from my heart that night. It brought me to my knees and shook me to the core like nothing ever had before.  Just as music should, hearing these lyrics wrecked my soul and started my journey home.

As I ventured down the path of contemplation on my spiritual journey, the next inspiration before me was that of the Uganda Bloggers and my introduction to Compassion International.  I had never heard of Compassion, nor did I read blogs.  It seemed odd to share your life with a world of strangers. What would they think? Why would they care? Yet again another song and more lyrics came in to play as I began reading the Uganda updates and my marriage was crumbling before my eyes.

Excerpt of Lyrics:   Unwritten… Natasha Bedingfield

I am unwritten, can’t read my mind, I’m undefined.

I’m just beginning, the plans in my hands, ending unplanned.

CHORUS:

Staring at the blank pages before you, open up the dirty window,

Let the sun illuminate the words that you could not find

Reaching for something in the distance,

so close you can almost taste it, release your inhibitions.

Feel the rain on your skin, no one else can feel it for you, only you can let it in,

no one else, no one else can speak the words on your lips

Term yourself in words unspoken, Live your life with arms wide open

Today is where your book begins, The rest is still unwritten.

Thus, BeyondJEMS was born of me and my muse. It came to fruition as my need to express what I was feeling was pushed to the limits by the Uganda bloggers. Their words wielding the joyful hope that Compassion brings to those stricken by poverty and despair were my inspiration. Blogging came in to my world and I began to bear my soul to the world. I did not know why or what was to come. The only thing certain was the need to write.

Much of this journey is about self-discovery and the desire to pursue what Christ has intended for my life.  I have never sought His design for me. I’ve never explored the idea that He created me for something unique to share with this world until this next inspiration came in to my life from the words of Max Lucado.

Excerpts:  You! God’s Brand-New Idea Made to Be Amazing by Max Lucado

~ No one can duplicate your life. You are heaven’s Halley’s comet; we have one shot at seeing you shine. You offer a gift to society that no one else brings. If you don’t bring it, it won’t be brought.

~The longings of your heart are not incidental; they are critical messages. The desires of your heart are not to be ignored; they are to be consulted. As the wind turns the weather vane, so God uses your passions to turn your life.

~ You can do something no one else do in a fashion no one else can do it. Exploring and extracting your uniqueness excites you, honors God and expands His kingdom. So “make a careful exploration of who you are and the work you have been given, and then sink yourself into that” (Gal. 6:4 MSG)

~ When choosing or changing jobs, be careful. Consult your design. Consult your Designer. Let your uniqueness define your path in life.

~ God always rejoices when we dare to dream. In fact, we are much like God when we dream. The Master exults in newness. He delights in stretching the old. He wrote the book on making the impossible possible.

While exploring this new medium of self-expression, I realize that it is a resource in my journey for discovering God’s plan for my life. For the hopes and dreams he has for me come to the forefront of my mind as I listen and read and write.  It becomes more of who I am and what I need to do for mindful clarity.

Another quote, this one directed personally at me, landed on my ears last night and brought about the inspiration for this post. This is what the good doctor said to me, “It’s more than blogging. You are a writer. It’s part of who you are and a part of your identity. For you writing is a form of art and all art is spiritual.” Oh how these words resonated with my soul.

There is an intoxicating element to writing. There is a beauty in words that express feelings and inspire others. They are fluid extensions of our souls to be honored as priceless treasures of art when they are crafted with genuine meaning and heartfelt delivery.

If writing is my one of my spiritual gifts that God has given me. It is through writing that I create spiritual art as a gift to Him, myself and for those who are touched by my words, whether they be many or few. True beauty is in the eye of the beholder and my hope is that God finds my writing beautiful.

THis is a part of Randy Elrod’s Water Cooler Wednesday.

7 thoughts on “Blogging As Spiritual Art

  1. amy, you are an incredible writer! i am inspired by your story and moved beyond words by the lyrics and how you’ve woven them together on this post. thank you for being real and transparent. you are already a priceless treasure of art – when you offer yourself in written words, that’s an incredible gift you give to others because you’re truly giving yourself away. keep writing. keep praying. keep listening. keep following. keep trusting. keep believing. keep loving. and know that God is pursuing you with a relentless love far beyond human understanding.

  2. …”It is when I write that I am free. I am free to dream. I am free to create. I am free to perform miracles on paper. Miracles that one day I may make reality.”

    Your writing is beyond…lovely, beyond…moving, beyond…true.
    The words, yes, I love the words.

    We are so fortunate you began blogging.

  3. It’s fascinating to peek into your life, your mind. You are an artist, and I admire that you can open yourself up the way you do. Your style is so eloquent, and yet, very down to earth. Thank you for sharing your words.

  4. Pingback: i hope you re feeling me like i m feeling you lyrics

  5. Pingback: what is a wind vane

  6. Pingback: lyrics i don t need no doctor

  7. Pingback: Tenth Avenue North « Beyond JEMS

Leave a Reply

