Networking.. You Just Never Know


OK, this was not what I intended to write about today, but some things just happen and you feel the need.

So I was at Merridee’s this morning for my usual Monday morning without the kids.  This is my time to get away and meet with my attorney or run errands or think and write, plot and plan.  Today I was doing all of the above. 

I sat down on the couches and briefly chatted with the guy sitting in the area who looked familiar. After about an hour, he spoke to me again and we poked and prodded at each others history, family and social life. We got nothing. But we had met before.  Nevertheless, we discussed work and I explained my desire to change careers and work for a purpose in non-profit or ministry or something. I tell him my story about not getting the job I was praying about for the last few weeks. And how that headed me off in another direction looking at the Center for Non-profit Management website to see what may be there.  Chit Chat.

Well, before he left he told me he always like to help people out and wanted to exchange business cards, just in case. When I looked at his card, it hit me.  We had met at a networking seminar last fall put on by my neighbor and her husband who are in real estate.  Would you believe we had never spoke to each other, other than stating our name and our business at the seminar. Yet we both knew our paths had crossed somewhere, sometime. 

So he asked me about the job I applied for on the CNM website.  I told him about the Administrative Director position for Blood:Water Mission. And how I had sent a cover letter hopefully explaining to the Executive Director how my automotive background could be of use for her non-profit enterprise. (You’d just have to read the letter to get it.) So Chris (the guy at Merridee’s) said, “Oh well do you know Dan Haseltine, the lead singer of Jars of Clay?” Me, “Umm, no, but it would be nice to know him.” Chris said, “Well, I’ll give him a call and tell him about you. Maybe I can catch him at church on Sunday, blah, blah, blah” I kind of zoned out at this point, because I was in a state of shock.  Wow, I’ve been telling my sister that if I could meet someone from the organization it would be better, so I could make sure they wouldn’t get hung up on my resume or background experience.  And can you believe that I sat down next to the guy who could and wanted to make that happen for me. 

Now, I’m not sure this will lead to anything, but it’s a step in the right direction.

It is an incredibly small world and God does incredibly big things in it. 

One thought on “Networking.. You Just Never Know

  1. Hi beyondJEMS,

    I stumbled onto your blog after seeing your post on Marissa Hyatt’s blog, which I also found by reading her dad’s blog. I just wanted to say that I know what it’s like to try to change careers…and to want to work for a purpose…and to be discouraged but still hopeful.

    I don’t have any advice for you, but I’ve been where you are…and still am, really…and I wish you the best in your journey. God certainly has plans for your life – and isn’t is amazing when He encourages you the way He did last Monday?! Your story was amazing, and I pray that this new connection leads to something even bigger for you!

Leave a Reply

