H2O Cooler Movies


A favorite movie…  wow, that’s a tough one. It really depends on the decade & my mood. 🙂 There are so many good ones and as soon as I think oh I loved that one! Then I feel guilty because I’ve left another one out.  [Ya know, that’s why I have two of every thing – 1 for Emma & 1 for Jacob – Mommy guilt – I’m a sucker!]  OK, so if I had to pick a few the list is below. Gee, I’m all over the map, see if anything surprises you….

  •    Gigi  – 1958 w/ Leslie Caron as Gigi & Louis Jourdan as Gaston – I realize that it was a decade before I was born, but I loved American Movie Classics in college.  This one was particular special to me because Gigi was the first live theater production I ever saw.  It was in Chicago in 1985 ish and Louis Jourdan, who played Gaston in the movie, played his Uncle (originally played by Maurice Chevalier) in the theater production that I saw over 30 years later.  Besides that it’s a classic!  Common girl who recreates! herself for a better life & ends up with the boy!  
  •  To Kill A Mockingbird – 1962- Classic….  Not much to say about this except I’ve had a secret crush on Gregory Peck since I was about 10 years old.  It’s still intact today.  I simply adore that man. So anything with him in it, should automatically go on the list, but I wont bore you all.
  • Raising Arizona – 1987 Coen Brothers 2nd film is a cult classic.  This is my sophmoric humor side at its weakest!  I love Holly Hunter.  She is still my hero!  “I lovvveee himmmm sooooo muchhhhh!!!”
  •  When Harry Met Sally – 1989 – Wonder classic romantic comedy with two phenom actors.  I think it put a great humorous look at the whole Men are from Mars & Women are from Venus concept on the big screen.  I loved the tug o war established from the start. Can men and women be friends or does always sex get in the way?  Can two friends sleep together and still love each other in the morning? And the ever popular classic line from the diner scene “I’ll have what she’s having!”
  •   The Shawshank Redemption – 1994 – Tagline: Fear can hold you prisoner. Hope can set you free. What a great tag line!  It’s so true in live too.  The majority of decisions people make are fear based – fear of the unknown, fear of failure, fear of change – even choosing not to decide is a choice based in fear of being wrong.  I love it when a movie makes me think!!!!!!!!!!
  •  The Usual Suspects – 1995 – This is my gritty, hardcore, heist gone bad side of me. “The greatest trick the Devil ever pulled was convincing the world he didn’t exist….” Keyser Soze or not? I love a good who-dun-it with a twist.  I’m pretty good at figuring them out too. It’s a little game I play with myself.  But I love it when I’m surprised – in the middle, at the end.  Throw me a curve ball and you’ve got my attention! Fun, Fun, Fun. 
  • Jerry Maguire – 1996 typical Tom Cruise cheezy comedy/drama hit –  but it’s great & here’s why… He’s a dreamer! who wants to revolutionize the way his entire industy does business, he’s not afraid to put it all out there, step out of the freakin square box. Plus +++ Girls:  Jerry Maguire  “You had me at hello!”    Guys:  Jerry Maguire  “Show me the money! Show me the money!”  Not too many movies can pull unforgetable, forever quotable quotes for both sexes! 
  • Saving Private Ryan – 1998 Spielberg classic of WWII D-Day Invasion.  I think this stays with me because of the beach landing scenes and knowing my grandfather was in the war. Not there, but he was in the Battle of the Bulge. It was the first realistic portayal of what that kind of war action was like. We (my generation) grew up with all of the Vietnam war movies, but this one touched on WWII as nothing had in quite a while. “James…. Earn this” 
  •  The Bourne Series – 2002 The Bourne Identity; 2004 – The Bourne Supremecy; 2007 – The Bourne Ultimatum.  I can be all into the chick flick thing, but really I’m a huge fan of action/drama/suspence.  That is my genre of movies I prefer over all and the Bourne series gives it to you all 3 nicely prepared and served up on a plate to enjoy! It doesnt hurt that Matt Damon is cute, but he’s still no Gregory Peck!

 OK, so I could go on for days & days…  Just a few more:  A River Runs Through It (My dad taught all 3 of his daughters how to fly fish  – deeply fond of the life lessons in this movie); Legends of the Fall (It’s so epic, just could watch it over & over again) The Departed (Smart, Suspense – Surprise Ending – Love it) Ok, I’ll stop now. Seriously, I’m done.

One thought on “H2O Cooler Movies

Leave a Reply

